History of Catholic Church in Kenya

Holy Week
March 31, 2018

The Catholic Church in Kenya has 24 dioceses, including an apostolic vicariate and a military ordinariate.  The 24 dioceses are divided into four metropolitan areas.

  1. Nairobi Metropolitan; Nairobi, Kitui, Nakuru, Machakos, Ngong and Kericho dioceses.
  2. Mombasa Metropolitan; Mombasa, Garissa and Malindi dioceses.
  3. Kisumu Metropolitan; Kisumu, Eldoret, Kisii, Kakamega, Lodwar, Bungoma, Homa-Bay and Kitale dioceses.
  4. Nyeri Metropolitan; Nyeri, Meru, Marsabit, Murang’a, Embu, Isiolo (apostolic vicariate) and Nyahururu dioceses.

Catholics make about 23.3{2e1e7db046430e5f09e8d1915ed23a2405c5245d97938a6fa09a8cde20f69217} of the country’s population. Kenya has had for visits by popes, namely;

  • 6th to 8th May 1980, by Pope St. John Paul II
  • 16th to 18th August 1985, by Pope St. John Paul II
  • 18th to 20th September 1995, Pope St. John Paul II
  • 25th to 27th November 2015, Pope Francis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *